top of page
  • Writer's pictureSew for Christ

James 1:17 - Perfect Presents

Updated: Nov 13, 2022


This is a simple solid wood chair. I am under the impression it has some history to it, especially since when I received it the finish was heavily worn and the caning was being replaced. I've seen variations of this chair for sale numerous times, often with varying back construction. I use it now with my antique Singer machine, in the background of the photo, to treadle.


How this chair came into my possession is a heavenly provision story. God teaches us that when we give to Him, He ensures that we do not lack for anything. Indeed, He will pamper us with gifts.


On the same day that I found my antique Singer, we met a lady who was going to donate this chair. She asked if instead I would like to have it, completely free. Only the grid of the caning was on and the rest of the weaving process needed to be finished. I had never caned before, but had seen some videos and pins about it. I gladly thanked her for the chair, willing to try something new.


As you can see, I painted and finished the caning. I had never done any kind of furniture weaving (or any weaving for that matter) but had a fantastic time learning to cane. If I had came across a chair that needed to be re-caned or completely missing the cane, I would've probably passed it over. Instead, God brought me a chair already started and in turn I found something I really liked to do.


"Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father." (James 1:17 TLV)


Apostle James teaches us that every good and perfect gift comes from God. He knows us and understands our desires deeply. God knew that I would enjoy caning if I got around to doing it, so He gave me a perfect gift for it. He knows each of us differently. Someone else would've wanted a chair in perfect condition to immediately utilize, another person would've appreciated a nice stack of fine oak wood.


I had no clue I wanted to cane a chair. However, God, in His infinite knowledge, knew me so well that He knew exactly what to give me to guarantee my happiness. Trust that God knows the desires of your heart, even ones heretofore unknown to you.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page